curious oddities


Beak of the Week

Money Maker by Michelle Strader

Money Maker by Fawn and Lark

This week’s fabulous Raven was drawn by Michelle, who resides in the teeny tiny village of Cape Vincent, NY. In addition to being an excellent photographer and illustrator, she is a full time professional cake decorator. She describes her inspirations:

“I have a peculiar obsession with dead animals, (though I enjoy them alive just as well) while all things organic, botanical, mammalian, avian, medical, linear, and skeletal simply fascinate me. I enjoy drawing from my own photographs and gain inspiration from my vast collection of nature and medical books.”

Prints of her work can be purchased in her shop Fawn and Lark including my other favorite, Thoughtful Crow.

My name is Michelle Strader. I went to art school at Pratt@MWPI and earned my BFA at the College of Saint Rose. I am now a professional cake decorator and part time artist. I live in teeny tiny village called Cape Vincent, NY.

Borrowed from my Etsy profile:
“I have a peculiar obsession with dead animals, (though I enjoy them alive just as well) while all things organic, botanical, mammalian, avian, medical, linear, and skeletal simply fascinate me. I enjoy drawing from my own photographs and gain inspiration from my vast collection of nature and medical books.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

